Governing Body

Highley Primary School Governing Body

The Governors are a group of volunteers who work hard alongside the staff to ensure that the children get the very best education that they can. Together they represent a wide cross section of our community.

The Governing Body has legal duties, powers and responsibilities. It can only act as a Body, and Governors may not act individually. They have overall responsibility for all that happens in the school.

The day to day running of the school is the responsibility of the Headteacher, but the Governors work with the Headteacher to ensure that the school is managed effectively for the benefit of the children.

The Governing Body have to meet at the very least once a term and working groups and sub committees meet regularly throughout the year.

Governors are elected using the parent election procedure and are made up of Parent Governors, Staff Members, Local Authority Governors and Co-opted Governors.

Below are our current Governors.

Chair of Governors
Mrs S Ritchie-Simmons (Link Governor SEND)
Local Authority Governors  Mr D Tremellen (Link Governor Literacy)
Parent Governors Mrs A Martin (Link Governor EYFS)

Mrs L Prockter (Link Governor Safeguarding/LAC)

Mrs J Matthews (Vice Chair) (Link Governor SEND)

Mr S Adlington

Mr S Plant

Co-opted Governor Mr A Edwards 
Teaching Governor Mrs L Butler
Associate Governor

Mrs T Mathers

Acting Head Teacher Mrs J Griffiths


Should you wish to contact the Governors, you can send an email to


Cosford Athletics

13 07 2017

Sports Day

07 07 2017

Year 3 Stepping Out Training - The Walk

30 06 2017


Cosford Athletics

21 07 2017

Bulletin 14th July 17

14 07 2017

Dave Tremellen Visit

12 07 2017